Public Service Appointments

1985-1986 Chairman SERC Instrument Panel
1985-1989 Chairman SERC Organic Chemistry Committee
1990-1993 Royal Society, Sectional Committee 3
1992-1993 Royal Society of Chemistry Vice President Perkin Division
1991-1992 HEFCE Research Assessment Exercise Panel Member
1992-1993 European Commission of the EU, Joint Research Centre Advisor
1993-1995 President Perkin Division, Royal Society of Chemistry
1993-2004 Chairman Novartis Foundation Executive Committee
1993-2004 University of London Standing Panel of Experts in Chemistry
1993-1998 Ciba/Novartis Foundation Trust Advisory Board
1994 Thieme IUPAC Prize in Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Selection Committee
1994-1997 Science and Engineering Base Board of the BBSRC
1995-1996 HEFCE Research Assessment Exercise Panel Member
1995-1999 Chairman Biomolecular Sciences Committee, BBSRC
1997 President of the Bürgenstock Conference
1997-2000 Society of Chemical Industry, Vice President
1997 Appointment of the Chief Executive of the EPSRC, Selection Panel
1997 European Commission of the EU, Invited Expert Assessor to COST D2
1997 Selection Committee for the Katritzky Award, Intnl Society of Heterocyclic Chemistry
1997 Springer Verlag Selection Committee ‘Springer Award in Organometallic Chemistry’
1997-2006 Thieme Verlag Prize for Organic Synthesis, Selection Committee
1997-1998 Glaxo-Wellcome Fellowships Selection Committee
1997-1998 Zeneca Awards Selection Panel Member
1997-1999 Strategy Board of the BBSRC
1997-2000 The Royal Society, International Exchanges Committee Panel I(a)
1997-2007 Invited Member of the International Scientific Committee of Institute European de Chimie et de Biologie, Bordeaux
1997-2004 The University of Basel, Switzerland, Invited Member of the Advisory Board for the Department of Chemistry
1998-2008 Dr. Paul Janssen Prize Selection Committee
1999-2002 Joint Infrastructure Fund, The Wellcome Trust ISAB Member
1999-2010 Novartis Young Investigator Award Committee
1999-to date International Advisory Board, Chulabhorn Research Institute, Thailand
2000-2002 President of the Royal Society of Chemistry (UK)
2000-2003 Royal Society of Chemistry, Salters’ Company & Jerwood Foundation, Green Chemistry Award, Selection Panel
2000-2010 Managing Trustee, The Drummond Trust, University College London
2000-2004 Trustee of the Royal Society of Chemistry Pension Fund
2001-2006 The Royal Society, University Research Fellowship Panel A(11)
2001-2010 Trustee of the Lloyd’s Tercentenary Foundation
2001- 2018 Thieme Synthesis/Synlett, Advisor
2002 Chemicals Innovation and Growth Team (Dept. of Trade and Industry)
2002 Chairman EPSRC International Review of Chemistry, Steering Group
2002 The AstraZeneca Awards, Selection Panel Member
2002 EPSRC ‘Basic Technologies Programme’ Grant Awarding Panel
2002-2009 Jury ‘Grand Prix de la Maison de la Chimie’
2002-2005 Faraday Partnership ‘Insight’ Programme Member of the Management Board
2002-2004 The Chemistry Leadership Council (Dept. of Trade and Industry)
2003-2004 Chemistry Innovation Group, Dept. of Trade and Industry
2004-2007 Member of Sectional Committee 3 The Royal Society
2004-2007 Chairman of the Aii Panel, The Royal Society
2005-2008 HEFCE Research Assessment Exercise Panel Member
2005-2016 Scientific Advisorary Committee, Drug Discovery for Tropical Diseases Initiative, University of Dundee, UK
2006-2009 The Hooke Committee, The Royal Society
2007 Chairman, Advances in Synthetic and Medicinal Chemistry, St. Petersburg, Russia
2008 President, Belgian Organic Synthesis Symposium, Ghent, Belgium
2009-2014 A. Ian Scott Medal Selection Jury
2011 Chairman, EPSRC Programme Grant Panel
2011-2012 Chairman, Pharmaceutical Sciences Scientific Advisory Panel, Pfizer, USA
2011-2017 Member Pharmaceutical Sciences Scientific Advisory Panel, Pfizer, USA
2011-2016 Imperial College Institute of Chemical Biology, International Advisory Board
2011-2016 The Royal Society, Nominations Committee
2011-2014 3D Fragment Consortium, Member of the Advisory Board
2012-2017 IFF, New York, USA Scientific Advisory Board
2013-2019 IUPAC, 47th World Chemical Congress, International Advisory Board
2013-2016 EPSRC Strategic Advisory Network
2014-2018 Cardiff University Scientific Advisory Board
2014-2017 Scientific Advisory Board, Synthesis & Solid State Pharmaceutical Centre (SSPC), Ireland
2014-2017 Ryoji Noyori Prize Selection Committee (The Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry)
2014-2018 University of Oxford Scientific Advisory Board, Synthesis for Biology and Medicine, CDT
2014 Appointment Committee, Dean of Faculty of Natural Sciences, Imperial College, London
2016 Selection Committee IUPAC Thales Nano Prize in Flow Chemistry
2016 Royal Society of Chemistry Haworth Memorial Lectureship Selection Panel